First Blog- It’s About Time…

Really, it is.  After talking about writing a novel for the past 10 years, there are many reasons why starting a blog is necessary if I ever hope to complete it.   First, and foremost, after reading tons of books on the subject, I decided it was time to put all of my ideas, questions, frustrations, and insights on to the page.  You don’t know me–or maybe you do–but the one thing I know for sure is that I need to be policed.  Writing in isolation, while fulfilling, was not getting me to the written page every day.  There was no immediacy, just a dream of finishing someday and hoping to publish.  By starting a blog, I must show up and do it.  It’s that simple  Second, I love an audience.  As a singer, I stink at rehearsal.  I phone it in and don’t go for it.  Writing in isolation feels very much like this.  I need the personal connection of an audience.   The thought of it gives me energy to write.  Third, I feel authentic. I wrestle with perfectionism which has led to writer’s paralysis,  and I realize there is no one who can free me except myself.  The only way to become the writer I want to be is to figure out the best way to get my story written. What is my process?  What works?  What doesn’t?  Hence the name writing upside down.  I am willing to experiment and make mistakes in order to get to where I want to be, and I hope that you will come along on my journey.

Author: jaynemagdalentraver

I have been writing all my life in one form or another. I have been an English teacher for the past 22 years, and writing, whether it be teaching literary analysis, argumentation or creative elements, has always been a main focus in my classroom. I have come to realize that teaching literature and writing have prepared me to write my own novel, but like most endeavors, it's been easier said than done. Here, in this blog space, I hope to gain insight into my own strengths and weaknesses in writing to finally become the writer I am destined to be.

12 thoughts on “First Blog- It’s About Time…”

  1. Jayne you are a multitalented artist and teacher! I have complete faith in your new endeavor and look forward to reading your entries. Best of luck, though I don’t think you need any! Draw from your past, your spirituality, and your God given talent to reach and captivate your audience’s attention!💋👌

    Like

Leave a Reply

